Proof is in the Pudding

Blueberry Scone Pudding

I really enjoy baking and I always end up making excessive amounts for my teeny tiny household of two. Ordinarily, I would give the extra treats away, but this time I thought I’d  transform them into another delicious dessert. In honor of a visit by two dear friends, (he’s British and she’s Italian American) and a handy basket of ripe blueberries in the fridge,  I baked a batch of Blueberry Scones.

The recipe comes from one of my favorite cookbooks, Breakfast, Lunch and Tea by the Rose Bakery. (If you are ever in Paris, Montmarte to be exact, be sure to drop by… DIVINE!!!) Curious about how simple I found it was to bake scones, I asked my friends if it was a common thing to do in England. I was also wondering what people normally did with the extras. Scones, as I have experienced a day later, have lost much of their pizazz. However, I often feel guilty about throwing them out.  My friends pointed out that most people purchased scones from a bakery, hardly bake them at home and therefore it was quite rare to have any left overs. HMMM…

Following the Rose Bakery recipe I ended up with 15 blueberry scones. My husband and I each enjoyed one and our two friends consumed a total of 4.  All together that made 6. Now take that away from 15 and we are left with 9. Nine scones leftover for the very next day. But scones, as mentioned a day later taste a bit flat. Well… what to do? What to do?

As we were tidying up the kitchen, I turned to my friend and said “Don’t you think these would be good as a bread pudding?”

She nodded in agreement. Therefore two days later this is what I came up with.

Leftover Scone Pudding

About 2 cups of stale scones (in this case we used 9 blueberry ones)

1 cup milk

1 cup cream

1/2 cup sugar (add 1/4 more if you like it sweeter)

1 tsp vanilla

4 eggs, beaten

Optional: If working with plain scones, add raisins or currents and 1 tsp of cinnamon if you like.

Heat oven to 180/350 degrees.

Using a 8 inch square pan, grease -if not using a silicone one, crumble the leftover scones around the pan. (If your scone recipe doesn’t use much butter, drizzle about 2 to 3 melted tablespoons over the scones. In this step, you can also mix in the raisins with the bread if you are planning to use them.)

In another bowl, combine the milk, cream, sugar and vanilla extract (cinnamon as well, if using).

Beat the eggs separately and then add to the liquid mixture. Mix well.

Then pour the mixture over the pieces of scones. Press bread down into the liquid mixture to make sure that they are well covered and soaked.

Bake in the oven for 45 minutes. The top should look brown like toast.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Flavors Abroad!, Prague Inspires!

Leave a Reply

