Oh Limey!

Lime Pie with Meringue Topping

A few weeks ago, I bought a bag of beautiful Biscotti Integrali at a local Italian pastry shop. When I got home, I put the kettle on and couldn’t wait to sit down to have some whole wheat biscuits with my tea. A few bites in and I was hugely disappointed, so was my husband. “They’re tasteless!” were his exact words and he was absolutely right. Sadly, it was a 500 gram bag of bland treats and it didn’t look like we were going to gobble these up.

Bland Biscuits

What to do with all this biscotti? I came from a very strict “We don’t waste food in our home!” household. My conscience would never let me just throw the cookies away. Oh, I got it! Why not pulverize them and use them for a cookie crumb crust! I know my mom would be very proud of my resourcefulness.

Pulverized biscuits

Hmmm…what kind of pie to make? With Easter here, we usually have leche flan for dessert. (see my post from 04/04/2010 for the recipe). But this year, I crave something more tangy and tart. Since I got pregnant, my palate yearns for salty and sour flavors. In comes Brazilian Lime Pie. Why Brazilian? Well, that’s what the grocery store’s sign above the basket of limes said they were from. I was craving Key Lime Pie with sour cream topping, but with key limes not around, I have to settle for a lime pie made with Brazilian limes. They still give it the tangy punch that I was hoping for. I decided to add the meringue for two reasons: 1) My husband is a huge fan of meringue and 2) The lime pie calls for 4 egg yolks. If I was already feeling guilty about wasting the biscuits, I could not bear to toss the 4 egg whites either. Hence, the pie is topped with meringue. Happy Easter!

Lime Pie with Meringue Topping

Pre-heat oven to 375/190 degrees.

Crumb Crust
1 1/2 cups of cookie crumbs (I used whole wheat, but feel free to choose anything else)
6 tablespoons melted butter, then cooled
5 tablespoons sugar

Combine the crumbs and the sugar in a bowl.
Mix well
Then add the butter.
Blend butter into the crumb mixture.
Then press the mix into a pie plate.

Bake the cookie crumb for 8-12 minutes.
Then set it aside to cool.
Refrigerate for extra firmness, if you like.

Lime Pie Filling

Lower the oven temperature to 325/160 degrees

1 14 oz./397g can of sweetened condensed milk
4 egg yolks
1 tablespoon of grated limes (I grated two limes before splitting and extracting the juice)
1/2 cup juice of fresh limes (about 6 limes)

Separate the egg yolks and egg whites.
Set aside egg whites for the topping.
Add the rest of the ingredients to the egg yolks.
Whisk together well.
Pour the mixture into the base.
Bake for 17-20 minutes.
While the pie is baking, work on the meringue topping.
Remove pie from the oven.
Leave the oven on.
Scoop meringue on to the hot pie filling.
Return it to the oven to bake for another 10-12 minutes.


Meringue Topping

4 egg whites
6 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon cornstarch
Pinch salt

In a small bowl, combine the sugar, cornstarch and salt.
Begin whisking the egg whites until soft peaks form.
Add the sugar mixture, tablespoon by tablespoon, to the egg whites, beating between additions.
Continue to beat until the sugar dissolves.
Spoon mixture over the pie filling.
Bake for 10 to 12 minutes.
Serve pie warm or at room temperature.

Leave a comment

Filed under Flavors Abroad!, Prague Inspires!

Leave a Reply

