Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Heaven

Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Cookies

From as young as I can remember, my dad has always had a sandwich made of two slices of toasted white bread with peanut butter to go along with his morning coffee. Peanut butter was definitely a staple in my house.

I love me some peanut butter too. I love it alone, with jam, with honey and I especially love it with some chocolate. And today, I am feeling naughty. I want to indulge. So far, I have been really good with my pregnancy diet. Even the doctor says I could gain a few more pounds. Therefore, I am going to allow myself some leeway this week. Not too much, just a little.

Peanut Butter and Chocolate: What a perfect pair!

I am craving something sweet, but I rarely do store-bought items. Star-studded bakeries: Yes! Grocery store: No! My mantra is the best baked goods for my body has to be the type baked by my own hands. Lately, I have been craving a peanut butter/chocolate combo and a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup is not what I am talking about.

One of my favorite cookbooks “Breakfast, Lunch Tea” from the Rose Bakery in Paris, France (a tres super place, make sure to visit when in Paris) features a simple Peanut Butter Chocolate Biscuit Recipe which I enjoy. One because it always satisfies the savory/sweet PB & Chocolate craving, but also because it is just a one bowl job! All the ingredients seem to flow one right after the other and the clean up bit is effortless.

Finger Lickin' Yumminess!

It has been especially hot these past few days in Prague and since I am on an little bit of an indulgent streak, I’ll bypass the glass of low-fat milk today and cool off with a Peanut Butter Chocolate Vanilla Ice Cream Sandwich.

PB& Choc Chipwich

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip Cookies:(adapted from Breakfast, Lunch, Tea)

1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup crunchy peanut butter
1 1/4 cups of soft light brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 eggs
2 1/4 cups plain flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
7 ounces chocolate chips or chopped pieces of chocolate

Beat butter, peanut butter and brown sugar until light and creamy.
Add vanilla.
Add eggs, one at a time and beat well.
Using a wooden spoon or spatula, fold in the flour and salt.
Mix the baking soda with a teaspoon of hot water and quickly add this to the batter.
Then fold in the chocolate.
On a lightly floured surface, roll the dough into two logs.
Then place in fridge and chill for 2 hours until hard.

Preheat the oven to 350 F.
Grease baking tray.
Cut the dough into 1/4 inch slices
and place an inch away from each cookie.

Bake for 15 minutes.
Cool for 10 minutes.
Enjoy with milk or ice cream!

1 Comment

Filed under Flavors Abroad!

One response to “Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Heaven

  1. Allison

    That chipwich looks amazing, open up a stand on the street and you’d be rich!! Love the article! What about peanut butter on your pancakes??!!

Leave a Reply

