Egg and Cheese Buttermilk Biscuit Breakfast Sandwich

While my dear husband was still deep asleep, (probably replaying the Barcelona win over Manchester United in the Championship League match in his dreams) I got up very early on Sunday morning. I couldn’t help it. The sun’s rays managed to peep in through our heavy curtains all before 5 am and it forced me out of bed.

That’s all right because I love Sunday mornings. I love breakfast. I love Sunday morning breakfasts. And on this Sunday, a savory southern inspired Sunday breakfast was calling.

The most delicious biscuits I have ever tasted were in Nashville, TN. Last summer, I visited my friend Julie, in her hometown a.k.a. Cashville for the very first time. I couldn’t wait to indulge in some good ol’ Southern food. As soon as we arrived, we made plans for dinner. We went to the Loveless Cafe. It used to be both a motel and café, but in recent years it was reconstructed to function solely as a restaurant because of the high demand of satisfied customers, both local and from out-of-town. From what I heard, there is always a line of diners waiting outside to eat at the Loveless Cafe. And for a very good reason, they make the most deliciously, moist, fluffy and buttery ALL-YOU-CAN-EAT biscuits and accompanied by a side of homemade jam! Did I mention that it was all-you-can-eat biscuits???!!! In addition to the satisfyingly tasty biscuits, the rest of their Southern dishes are worth the wait and the calories.

Loveless Cafe's all-you-can-eat biscuits!

I have been endlessly searching the internet for their biscuit recipe, but no luck. While I was there, I did take a peek at their cafe’s cookbook, but it didn’t include the biscuits. In my opinion, it seemed fruitless to purchase the book without that coveted recipe, which I learned, has long been kept a secret. It’s a bit selfish, don’t you think?

So, on this morning I was dreaming of biscuits, made with buttermilk of course! Sadly, I had to settle for this recipe, which I can’t remember where I got it from. It was tucked away in my tattered notebook of recipes that I have collected over the years. It doesn’t match the quality of biscuits served at the Loveless Cafe, but I don’t think I’ll ever come across anything that ever will. But for now, on this Sunday morning, these baked treats did serve us well. Their buttery scent drifted upwards from the oven, which did stir my dear husband out of bed and down the stairs to our dining table, where awaiting him was an egg and cheese buttermilk biscuit with his usual cup of coffee.

Biscuit Sandwiches with Oven Roasted Potatoes

Buttermilk Biscuits
2 cups all-purpose flour
3 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons cold butter, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
3/4 cup buttermilk, plus 2 tablespoons buttermilk

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
Sift dry ingredients together.
Using your fingers, add the butter to the flour mixture.
It should resemble a coarse breadcrumb like meal.
Then with a wooden spoon, stir in the buttermilk.
Mix well and shape into a ball.

On a lightly floured surface, place the ball of flour
and gently knead the dough about 10 times.
Flatten the dough out and stamp out biscuits about
2 1/2 inches high.
Gather the rest of the dough and repeat until you
can get as many biscuits out of the dough.
Arrange biscuits on a baking tray.
Bake for 8-10 minutes or until golden.

Egg & Cheese Biscuits

Use the recipe above to make the biscuits.
Cut biscuit in half.
Butter the inside of the top biscuit.
Add a slice of swiss cheese to the bottom of the biscuit.
Heat from the biscuit, should melt the cheese.
Add some scrambled or fried egg.
If you want to add some meat, add some ham or chorizo.
I’m veggie, so I added a slice of tofu ham.
Sandwich back together the ends of both biscuits and enjoy!

Oven Roasted Potatoes (throw these in the oven before prepping the biscuit batter)

10-15 baby potatoes, cut in half
salt, pepper and paprika
1/4 cup of olive oil

Heat oven to 450 degrees.
Put the potatoes in a roasting pan.
Pour the olive oil over the potatoes.
Season with salt, pepper and paprika.
Toss the potatoes in the seasoned olive oil
and make sure all the potatoes are evenly coated.
Bake for 1/2 hour.

3 Comments

Filed under Flavors Abroad!

3 responses to “Egg and Cheese Buttermilk Biscuit Breakfast Sandwich

  1. YUM! These look excellent… I love biscuits and cannot wait to eat one of my favorites at Fat Albert’s Breakfast Cafe in Portland- just over the Sellwood Bridge! I like seeing your Polish Pottery in the background of one of you photos… 🙂

  2. That cafe sounds like my kind of cafe! I love places that serve just breakfast meals! Enjoy and see if you can get the biscuit recipe!

Leave a Reply

