Not Just Your Ordinary Banana Bread

Guys will eat just about anything. At least the guys in my household. Before leaving our home yesterday, I prepped a few ingredients that I planned to use later that evening for dinner. I chopped up some carrots, celery, scallions and put them together in a bowl with diced pineapples and tuna. I wrapped it up and placed it in the fridge. I also boiled up some elbow macaroni and left it, covered on the counter to drain.

The boys (this would be my husband and my brother) were busy upstairs painting shelves in preparation for the babies’ arrival. I planned to meet my friend, Ms. Alli B. and keep a good distance away from the fumes. I came home six hours later. The shelves were almost dry, the windows were all wide open and the bowl of ingredients I left sitting in the fridge was scaled down to half.

When I pulled it out to begin preparing the macaroni salad I had in mind for dinner, my husband said, “Oh, we ate some of that. It was a good salad.”

“What?” I said surprised as I looked down at the bowl.

“For lunch. I had some of the leftovers from take out and then I saw that and we had some,” he responded.

“You guys. This is for dinner!” I said shocked that they would just go in and eat whatever they saw. “I was going to use it for a Tuna Macaroni Salad.”

“Well, it was healthier this way,” my brother joins in.

I couldn’t believe they just ate it, plain and simple like it was and that they liked it. Chopped carrots, celery, scallions, diced pineapples and canned tuna. I managed to salvage the remains of what they kindly left behind and added the macaroni, mayo and home-made sweet relish. We ended up having it for dinner, but I was still suspended with disbelief. Amazed, in fact, that they thought that I had prepared those ingredients as a salad for them. My guys will eat anything.

The recipe I am posting today has nothing to do with my story, except that the boys gobbled this up too. It’s the recipe that introduced me to my all time favorite baking ingredient. If you have read the blog a few times, you would know what that means: buttermilk! This banana treat is not your ordinary banana bread recipe, it doesn’t even have a bread-like texture. The loaf tastes more like a cake. It’s sweet, moist and you can’t just have one piece. It is another recipe from the lovely Parisian café, Rose Bakery. Do go try this recipe and tell me how it goes…

Banana Cake (adapted from Breakfast, Lunch, Tea)

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
3 eggs
3 ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/3 cups flour
1 cup chopped pecans
1 tsp. vanilla extract (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Grease a large loaf tin and line it with parchment paper.
Beat the butter and sugar until light and creamy.
Add eggs, one at a time and continue beating.
Mix in the bananas and buttermilk (and vanilla if using)

In another bowl, sift the baking soda, salt and flour together.
Then fold into the banana mixture, along with the pecans.
Using a wooden spoon or rubber spatula, combine and mix the ingredients well.

Pour the batter into the tin and bake for 45 minutes
or until your knife/fork comes out clean from the center.

Remove from oven and cool in tin before taking it out.

Enjoy with or without the guys around!

1 Comment

Filed under Flavors Abroad!

One response to “Not Just Your Ordinary Banana Bread

  1. I’m sure the your Almost-Macaroni-Salad was delicious, with or without some of the ingredients intended, but you’re absolutely correct – hungry guys will eat just about anything. There’s no question this banana bread was fabulous – just looking at it, I’m craving!

Leave a Reply

